Mua Pearl Eyeshadow – Electric Purple

Hello lovelies!

Today I want to do a little review and swatch of MUA’s mono eyeshadow in Electric Purple.

This is an item I’ve purchased last summer, lost it in my eyeshadow bag and only recently found it and started using it.

Now, I’m not one for buying monos, I’m more of a palette kind of girl, but since I didn’t have any purple eyeshadows and reading somewhere that purple goes amazing with green eyes, I decided to give it a go.

I was at first attracted by how amazing the color looked in the photo and for the £1.00 price I knew I had to try it.

 

Product description:

“Single eyeshadows that are super high pigmented, smooth and easy to apply are the must-have item from MUA. They’re the barga-licious price of just £1 each and they come in 34 amazing shades from brights to natural colours. Create a dramatic look with three or four in one look, or simply sweep one across the eye for a wash of colour. “

 

Ingredients:

Talc, Mica, Magnesium Stearate, Paraffinum liquidum, Ethylhexyl palmitate, Dimethicone, Propylparaben, Methylparaben, CI 77891, CI 77491, CI 77742, CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 42090, CI 19140, CI 77289, CI 42090, CI 77007, CI 15850.

So not the healthiest of ingredients (yes, parabens, I’m looking at you).

 

Swatches:

This is swatched on the back of my hand, over the Pixie Epoxy primer.

 20150129_143146Electric Purple swatch

 

Opinion:

While the color is nice, it is not as pigmented as the description says. The color pay off is sheen and if you want a more intense look you need to go over it a few times. The swatches on my hand look like that after 3-4 brush strokes.

Applying it with a brush is quite difficult. The color just doesn’t want to stick right to the brush and you have to really blend it to get a smooth and even stroke. So while the formula is creamy, when you try to get it on the brush it gets very powdery and uneven and a pain to blend in afterwards.

Also, because the blending in is really needed, I don’t recommend using it over a sticky primer (*cough* like Pixie Epoxy *cough*).

How I use it: in my crease for a nice pop of colour. I wouldn’t use it as a stand-alone eyeshadow.

 

Rating:

Pigmentation: 5/10

Colour: 7/10

Ease of use: 4/10

Price: 10/10

 

Would repurchase again: personally no. But it’s a nice colour for make-up starters or for gifts.

5 thoughts on “Mua Pearl Eyeshadow – Electric Purple

Leave a Reply

